Member Login

Commisso Scratch Invitational

The Frank Commisso Two-man Better Ball Tournament

Irondequoit Country Club cordially extends an invitation to you and a partner to participate in the 2019 Frank Commisso Scratch Two-man Better Ball Tournament, held on Friday and Saturday, October 4 and 5. 

Competitors may choose to play in our Amateur division, or Senior Amateur division (age 50+). The Amateur Division will be played from the Black tees, and the Senior Amateur Division will play the Blue tees.  

Schedule of events:

October 4: Shotgun Start at 12:30 P.M.
                   Cocktail Reception with heavy Hors d’oeuvres/Carving Stations

October 5: Morning Starting Times
                   Awards and Lunch
The entry fee of $350.00 per team includes the tournament rounds of golf, on-course beverages, lunch both days, keg beer and Hors d’oeuvres Friday night, tournament favor, and prizes. A portion of each entry fee is allocated to the Frank Commisso Scholarship Fund. Established in Frank’s memory, this fund awards approximately $7,000 annually to local students who excel in both the classroom, and serving the community.  

Golf carts are available for an additional $20 per person/round (this can be charged back to your home club, or paid by cash/check). There will be an optional cash skins game/low daily round bet collected at the event. The field will be limited to 48 teams, and all applications are subject to Committee approval. Entries close on September 27.

Practice rounds are not included in the entry fee, but can be played for $40 per person (cart included). Practice rounds can be scheduled by calling the Professional Shop (585-586-0156).

We look forward to your participation!


The Commisso Tournament Committee


2018 Commisso Scratch Championship Results

1st Place (68) Adam Condello and Brandon Nunn
2nd Place (69) Jim Scorse and Kevin Thornton
T3rd Place (70) Kress Riley and Jeff March
Kyle Downey and Pat Keegan
T5th Place (71) Rob Smith and Ben Hauser 
Brad Basal and Chris Cox
Shane Hewitson and Jesse Cicione
Brad Monroe and Chad Holbert
1st Place (69) Jim Mason and John Schantz
2nd Place (70) Wade Sarkis and Pat Cahill
T3rd Place (71) Mark Dugan and Tom Blank
Bob Rosen and John Gaffney
T5th Place (72) Frank Mortensen and Tim Dundas
Rob Marshall and Joe Dioguardi
Matt Haefele and James Landshaft

Who was Frank Commisso?

Frank Commisso

Charter Member - 1986

1911 - 1995

Head Professional at Irondequoit C.C. for 48 years: 1933-1980.
Elected to PGA Membership in 1951.
Past President of WNYPGA.
Past National PGA Vice President for the PGA - 1961 to 1963.
Three-time WNYPGA Professional of the Year: 1955, 1957, 1980

Playing Accomplishments – Professional

Played in 10 PGA Championships.
Played in 8 US Open Championships.


Lake Shore Open Winner.
Central New York Open Winner.
Cambridge Springs Open Winner.
3 Time Buffalo Open Champion.

Western New York PGA

11 Time WNYPGA Section Champion.
8 Time WNYPGA Senior’s Champion.
2 Time WNYPGA Super Senior Champion.